Excerpts of Erynn

a blog about… nothing in particular and everything at once

Drinking from my saucer… still March 15, 2010

Filed under: diary,Faith,recipes,tips — Erynn Sprouse @ 12:51 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

This morning, the kids were clamoring for breakfast and my brain just about short-circuited when I saw we had no cereal. This is what I threw together for them and it was a hit, so I’m writing it down before I forget it…

_________________________________________________________________________________

Hot Banana Breakfast

2 cups cooked whole grain (quinoa is what I had, but I’m thinking brown rice would work well too)
2 bananas, mashed
milk
sweetener to taste (I used sugar, but wanted to use honey… too bad we were out)

Put the cooked grains in a medium saucepan and pour milk on till it comes to the top of the grains. Dump the rest in and heat until it’s thickened just a bit. Makes about 4 servings

Voila! Quick, easy, cheap, hot, healthy whole grain breakfast.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

While I’m at it, I might as well post a bit about life ’cause there’s some cool stuff happening.

I posted a bit ago (here) about how we’re starting in on Dave Ramsey’s Financial Peace University and also about our car wreck. At first when we wrecked, I knew Murphy had struck. Here we are just getting our financial lives together and we have a big time financial crisis… one that our mere $1000 emergency fund wouldn’t cover. I figured our hopes of financial peace were shot, but they’re not kidding when they say God works in mysterious ways. Because of our car insurance and gap insurance, our van will be paid off. It was our biggest debt and now it’ll be gone! Dave Ramsey advises buying a beater of a car that you can pay cash for and not have a car payment. Seemed impossible, but because of our tax return coming, we’ll be able to do that. That means no car payment! Which means extra money to chuck at debt! Which means we’ll be out of debt 2 years earlier than we’d thought. Additionally, the van we’re hoping to buy is in Jeremy’s home town… and close-ish to the baby swing I loaned to my sister. Those things don’t ship well and no one is planning a trip out here. If we buy the van out there, Jeremy can fly to CO (maybe me too! Probably not… don’t think you can fly in your 3rd trimester), grab the swing from my sister and bring it home in the new-to-us van. So check this out… our car wreck is resulting in less debt, getting out of debt sooner, and possibly even getting my swing back in time to set up for Quacho. Who’d’a thunk it?

Some more cool stuff happening:

  • For a while now, I’ve wanted to get a blog started that’s just for Christian women. New posts daily from different ladies, room for discussions, a way to connect with others. It’s up! It’s happening! I’m soooo excited about the success it’s seen already. Drop by when you get a chance… Come Fill Your Cup
  • Something else I’ve wanted to see happen for a long time is a retreat for preachers’ & leaders’ wives like Workshop in the Word. It would be scripture, scripture, scripture– not fluff. We would go through a book of the Bible verse by verse and learn how to teach it to others (Bible classes and evangelistic applications).  This project is way too big for me by myself. I don’t even know where to begin, but now I have a very capable cohort and it’s happening! I think it’s going to be even better than I have envisioned.
  • I am still able to do Tae Kwon Do even this far along (35 weeks)! Seriously modified, sure. No kicks above mid-level. No spinning kicks or back fists or anything else spinning (didn’t realize how exhausting those are!!). The warm-up/ cardio at the beginning is seriously modified too. No sit-ups. No leg lifts past 45 degrees. Push-ups must be girly (not that I can do the others anyway). No planks. BUT… the working out regularly, the stretching, and some of the exercises have been really helpful and I credit TKD with making this my easiest, healthiest pregnancy.
  • My doctor (Rita Sanders, D.O.) has been wonderful. She has six kids herself and is an athlete, so when she says I can keep up my physical activities and tells me what I can and can’t do, I trust her. She and I kinda went rounds when I was pregnant with the twins and at their delivery, but now that we got that out of our systems, we have a good dr-patient relationship and I’m really glad I’ve stuck with her. We see eye-to-eye on most things and because I know her philosophy, I know what to expect. Didn’t even have to tell her I don’t want an epidural… she already knew and it doesn’t bug her a bit.

To sum it up, life is good and getting better all the time. I’m drinking from the saucer ’cause my cup has overflowed.

 

5 Responses to “Drinking from my saucer… still”

  1. SuSu Says:

    Did you know that “breakfast cereal” is an invention of a guy who was trying to do two things: (1) sell more corn, and (2) control Man’s (big M for everybody) baser impulses aimed toward that whole procreation thing. Prior to that, “poritch” (made from oats) was the thing because it was readily available, cheap, could be ground or processed at home, cheap, could cook all day, could be used to thicken other things, cheap, and kept a person full for a long time because of the soluble fiber.

    Good job thinking spontaneously!

  2. Aimee Lemus Says:

    Oh, AND you have a great blog. I enjoyed reading it :)

  3. Aimee Lemus Says:

    I’m going to start a blog! Also, I’m planning to send an article for comefillyoucup really soon :)


Leave a Reply

