Excerpts of Erynn

a blog about… nothing in particular and everything at once

Quinoa salad April 24, 2010

Filed under: recipes — Erynn Sprouse @ 9:54 pm

Inspired by Poor Girl Eats Well, I made a quinoa veggie salad the other night and loved it. Can’t really say the same for the kids. Oh, well. They’ll get plenty more chances to like it ’cause I feel a rush of ’em coming on. Mean Momma, I know. Anyway, here’s the recipe for what I made…

Rainbow Quinoa Salad
1 can garbanzos, drained & rinsed
1 1/4 cup quinoa cooked in 2 1/2 cup water
1 recipe vinaigrette (below)
1 yellow bell pepper
1 cucumber
1/2 red onion
3 stalks celery
3 carrots, peeled
1/4 cup (or more) cilantro, minced
Juice of 1/2 lime

Chop up veggies except cucumber in food processor (I absolutely LOVE my KitchenAid food processor). I chopped them up individually, but I’m thinking I could’ve done ’em together. Cut cucumber into quarters hot dog style (you know… down the long way… stand it on end & cut into 4) then cut into slices. Combine in a bowl with the quinoa & beans. Add cilantro, dressing & lime juice. Fold it all together & enjoy. It’s even better as leftovers after the flavors meld. Makes 6 main dish portions… that’s what Jeremy & I are guessing anyway.

Quick vinaigrette (straight from PGEW):
2 T olive oil
3 T red wine vinegar (I only had red wine garlic vinegar)
1 clove of garlic, minced (garlic was hiding; I used garlic salt & omitted the salt below)
Salt & pepper to taste

Combine all dressing ingredients into a small bowl and whisk together until completely combined.

I’m thinking I want to make a Southwest quinoa or rice salad with black beans, corn, avocado, tomato, cilantro & possibly jalapeño. Probably not on the jalapeño for the kids’ sake, but maybe. Maybe a poblano instead. I’m thinking of a Brazilian salad too. According to a thing on Disney called “Pass the Plate,” in Brazil, they eat black beans with rice and bananas. I bet the kids would eat that. Toss in some pineapple and papaya… mmm!

 

2 Responses to “Quinoa salad”

  1. Sounds yummy! I have some quinoa that I’ve been wanting to use, just didn’t really know how. Any more directions on the actual cooking of the quinoa? How long does it cook for, etc? Thanks!

    • Erynn Sprouse Says:

      It’s 2 parts water to 1 part quinoa. Stick it all in a pan together, bring to a boil then let it simmer til the husk spirals out. There’ll be little tiny string looking things and little couscous looking balls. Takes about 15 minutes (more like 10 on my stove). They say if you rinse it till the water runs clear, you get some of the bitter taste off, but I don’t taste any bitterness and don’t want to wash nutrients off. Besides, it takes about 4 good washings before it runs clear, then the quinoa is all stuck together too. So, I skip that step.
      Poor Girl Eats Well has some other quinoa recipes that look good. Haven’t tried any, but they sound delicious.


Leave a Reply

