Excerpts of Erynn

a blog about… nothing in particular and everything at once

Dishes that start with “S” April 30, 2010

Filed under: recipes — Erynn Sprouse @ 2:04 pm

Life has been pretty crazy around here. Last week we had 18 yr old girl move in with us (long story… not telling) and my mother-in-law is visiting. The moving in and the visiting are both good things, but extra people in the house is always stressful to some degree. One good thing is that it forces me to actually think about what we’re going to eat. It’s easy when it’s just us to throw down some PB & J for the kids and then Jeremy and I figure out our own dinner after the kids go to bed. That means we’re frequently eating at 10:00PM or even later. With other people to think of, I have to be a bit more organized and it’s kinda nice. We’ve had actual meals! It hasn’t just been whatever I can throw together (umm… let’s see… we have cooked rice and cooked beans… and hey lookie there’s some cheese. Scrape off the mold and throw it on there. That’s what we’re having!). Here are some of the things we’ve been having…

Southwest Black Bean Salad

1 avocado
1/2 poblano pepper
1 tomato
1/4 cup cilantro, minced
1 cup corn (I used cooked from frozen… could do canned I suppose)
1 cup black beans, drained
lime juice to taste (about 1 tbs I’d guess)
garlic salt to taste

Whack it up & mix it up. Voila. Serves 8 for side dish, 4-6 for main dish.

We had this as a side dish. I’d originally thought I’d serve it as a main dish salad over some lettuce or spinach, but that didn’t happen… long story… not telling. ;o) I’ll definitely make this again. It was really good and I love the healthy ingredients. Next time I’ll add less cilantro, though. Also, next time I’ll choose an avocado that’s just ripe and maybe put in two. The avocado kinda got pulverized & you couldn’t taste it. For a crowd that doesn’t include two-year olds, substitute a jalapeno or two for the poblano & add some onion.

Stroganoff

1 lb ground turkey
1/2- 1 whole onion
2 cloves garlic
8 oz sliced fresh mushrooms
1 cup chicken broth (or beef… I’d have used beef if I’d had it)
tarragon, basil, thyme– pinch of each
garlic salt to taste
1/2 cup sour cream
2 tsp flour (optional)

Brown the meat with the onion & garlic. Throw in the mushrooms & let it cook a bit. Add in the broth & seasonings. Stir in sour cream & cook to heat through. At this point, it was a little too thin for my taste, so I mixed up some gluten free flour mix with some water (1 tsp to 1/4 cup water) and stirred it in. I did that twice and it was just how I wanted it. Serve over mashed potatoes or egg noodles. Serves 4-6

This was really good and the kids gobbled it up.  I served it with whacked up apples, which is usually the bargaining chip with the kids (“you can have another apple slice, but you have to eat ___ first.”). This time, they were begging for more stroganoff! Definitely a repeater. Really, the only thing is that I only had half an onion & wish I’d had a whole one.

That’s it for me! I’m off to nap. Neener neener neener. ;o)

 

Leave a Reply

