Excerpts of Erynn

a blog about… nothing in particular and everything at once

Last night as an Okie September 29, 2011

Filed under: diary — Erynn Sprouse @ 11:07 pm

It’s kind of a reflective night tonight. I’m sitting in my front room with miscellaneous stuff scattered around, taking a break from packing, loading, etc. to just think, contemplate, reflect. As of tomorrow, we’ll no longer be Okies from Muskogee. We’ll be Texans. I suppose we will be, anyway. Not really sure what requirements must be met to be official Texans. From what I understand of Texans, they’re pretty proud of their Lone Star State and I would suppose they might not like a Coloradan-NewMexican-Oklahoman just up and claiming the title “Texan.” Anyway, whatever our title will be, after tonight, we’ll be residents of Dublin, TX and it’s really a bittersweet thing!

I think we’ve grown a lot here. For one thing, the size of our family has doubled! Jaden was a few months past two years old when we moved here. He’s six-and-a-half now. We barely even knew we were expecting a baby at all when we packed up a truck and left New Mexico. Now the twins are three, almost four. And then there’s Ean. That little guy was God’s get-on-track gift, I think! But that’s a story for another post (that, if I’m honest, will probably never get posted… just like the mental drafts of 90 other posts that will likely never see the light of day… there are just more important things going on than keeping up with this blog). So here we are. Four years and three months later and we’re packing up the U-Haul again, headed out on another adventure. Twice the family, four years of experiences and memories and growth.

Leaving Muskogee is hard! We have people we love here. We have friends we’ll miss dearly. I’ll miss my house. As dumb as it seems to me, I will… I will miss my house. This is MY house. We bought this house! We prayed for this house. Right now, it feels like that’s the thing I’ll miss the most, but I’m sure that’s because it’s the thing that is right here in front of me. Leaving the other things that leaving Muskogee means will sink in later. Probably in a week or two. It’ll start to sink in that Jaden’s “Ganny” is here. That some of the dearest friends I’ve ever had are here in this area. That our church family that has been with us through so many changes is here. It will all sink in… and I will be sad. Homesick, even.

But it will be alright. Right about then is also when it will start to sink in that we have a new church family. And maybe Jaden will have another Ganny— not to replace this Ganny, but to add to his stock of loved ones. The new house will start to feel like a home. The grocery store won’t be such a foreign, unfamiliar place. The “new” will start to fade just a bit, yet not enough to dim the initial excitement.

I will miss Muskogee, but I will remember the town and the people and the experiences and everything else. It kind of feels like this is where our lives really began. That doesn’t make any sense, but it does kind of feel that way. This is where we lived when three of our four children were born. This is where Jeremy has grown more fully into a strong, powerful preacher. I know my faith has grown. I know that I have grown as a person and as a mom. This is the birthplace of so much for our family. But birthplaces are often launching pads.

So off we go. Launching in…

3…

2…

1!!!

 

2 Responses to “Last night as an Okie”

  1. Jennifer Jensen Says:

    Moving is hard, but you’re strong! I am so excited to hear all about your new home & all the great things that our Lord has planned for the Sprouse family.

    My father-in-law used to say, “Roots come up hard, but they go down easy.” It will seem hard at first, but you’ll take “root” easily because God is with you.

    Love you much from California!!

  2. Julie Lucero Says:

    Praying for you now during this new adventure and thinking of Abraham! May God watch over and bless you just as He blessed him!
    Love, All of us in New Mexico


Leave a Reply

