Excerpts of Erynn

a blog about… nothing in particular and everything at once

Lightbulb Moments on Housekeeping June 12, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Erynn Sprouse @ 1:43 am

It’s not really a secret that housekeeping isn’t my strength. I’ve gotten better over the years… S L O W L Y.  I have a love/hate relationship with FlyLady. I love the results… but I have a very hard time not being perfectionistic about her instructions. And that shiny sink stuff? It just doesn’t work for my family. A cleaned out sink does. But trying to maintain a SHINY sink makes me insane. I’ve been working particularly on learning how to keep my house running smoothly (or should I say learning how to GET my house running smoothly) so that we’ll be all up and running before we start school on July 31. I had a few light bulb moments this week…

1) Yesterday after potluck I was doing dishes in the church bldg’s kitchen. I even told another lady she should go sit down and enjoy her company. As I stood there washing dishes, it occurred to me that I didn’t feel the least bit grumpy about doing it. Why? I’m grumpy about doing dishes at home! And I’d be really grumpy if I had to do them by hand all the time. I decided I could merrily do the dishes at the building because I’m more aware of Who I’m serving and Who my Rewarder is. I’m more aware that I’m doing all things in His name, to His glory, not my own (Ephesians 6:7, Colossians 3:17, 23). I’m more aware that what I’m doing there at the sink is an act of service. But the thing is, it’s still an act of service at home. And so is sweeping and mopping and all the rest of it. And even if no one says thank you or even notices, God sees and He rewards (Colossians 3:23, Matthew 6:4).

2) A menu plan is, for our family, more important than any cleaning task… and it leads to a cleaner kitchen… which leads to a cleaner dining area… which means that our most used spaces are cleaner! And Momma is happier! And when Momma is happier, everyone else is happier (but I still must choose to be happy even when my house looks like it’s been overrun by chimpanzees).

3) Of course keeping my house seems like a lot of work. Compared to doing nothing and allowing the place to be a disaster, actually cleaning up the kitchen and wiping down the table and all the rest of it IS a lot of work. Something vs. nothing… hmm… yep! That’s why it seems like a lot of work.
But I’m banking on it being worth it.

3) Here’s a link to a short story (that’s kinda long) that is really one of the most inspiring things I’ve ever read. If you read it, let me know what you think! When Queens Ride By (you gotta kinda scroll down to get to the PDF download link)

 

One Response to “Lightbulb Moments on Housekeeping”

  1. Erynn, I just had to remind myself as well that it is a blessing to be home with my children and to have the privilege to clean my house. Even if it does mean not sitting down until 9:30 at night. And just so you know, I clean out my sink as well but it is not always shiny :) Love you! Paula


Leave a Reply

